Australia Day and the Worm

Taking a moment, a deep breath and relaxing myself into the arms of the universe, I marvel at the amazing, raw beauty that hides from the dwellers in plain view. It is a beauty often forgotten but marveled at when rediscover. The moments of returning to nature is like running into a soul mate, where it all feels as though this is the way life should always be. I want to hold onto the moment for as long as possible, capturing mental photos of the serenity stored away in the treasure chest of moments where the universe takes my breath away.

The sun had set not long before, the sky dancing with the many shades of pinks and blues on a calm evening after a sweltering day of heat. A day celebrated with a cliché and traditional Australia Day barbeque, surrounded by laughter and good company. The sky had been absent any clouds or imperfections, so perfect it could have been mistaken for silk. Sitting amongst the pebbles of the edge of the water, the lake sat calm. The vast body of water was framed with a lining of soldier like trees. The trees stood tall and firm; yet tightly side by side with their brother-trees, almost in a guarded manner yet exerting a mysterious quality raising questions about what is hidden beyond.

On an evening so perfect and surrounded by peace, yet with great determination of proving my capability to embrace all of natures’ activities, I cast my fishing line into the lake, I settled back into a waiting game to see if I would receive a reward for such patience. I cannot help but turn my mind to reflections of my world and all that makes it what it is. The evening sky turned to night, revealing that lay hidden within is an array of wonders. The stars peppered across the dome above me reaching from end to end, further than my eye is able to see. The many clusters visible as they glisten together, yet each individual star shining brightly in their own right. There is an odd feeling of serenity that washes over my being. My mind and eyes continuously drawn back towards the sky; the immense beauty of the sparkling stars danced above.

As the night air quickly cooled, it was time to pack up and leave. Lifting the fishing rod, I starting to negotiate the reeling in of what I anticipated to be the catch of the night; a fish so large that it would feed us for a week! I contemplated the limited fish recipes that I was familiar with but was sure I could find others to cook the amazing fish I had hooked on my line. There was initially some resistance, which surely meant a good catch, perhaps a great catch! Perhaps even greater than I imagined! After a few more moments of reeling, whilst the rod promisingly bent like the hunchback of notre dame, the line capitulated out of the water! As I watched intently, unintentionally holding my breath I brought the line in and I caught it… staring at it puzzled, even more difficult to do so in the dark of the night using only the assistance of the distant torch, I squinted at the hook that hung only millimeters from my face… there was no fish – no gigantic catch that we could eat for the next week…not even a baby, underweight fish that I would need to redeposit into the lake but I had caught something…it wriggled at the end of the line…I had caught a worm! Wait… my expression became one of even more confusion…I’m pretty sure that was the way my fishing rod started… still a completely intact worm.

A complete success of an evening none the less…my ability to cast a fishing rod is a new capability to be proud of.

~F.P

Photographer: Jensen A

Photographer: Jensen A

Leave a Reply

